NewsNo Comments

default thumbnail

The University Grants Commission has released a State-wise list of universities that it termed as fake. In the notice it stated that, “students and public at large are informed that such 21 self-styled and unrecognized institutions, functioning under the contravention of the UGC Act are declared as fake, and are not entitled to confer any degrees.”

According to the list put out by the UGC on its website, six of the fake universities are in Delhi. Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal has one each. Uttar Pradesh topped the list with nine universities.

Only a university established by a Central/State/Provincial Act or an institution deemed to be university under Section 3 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956 is allowed to call themselves as ‘university’.

Here is the list of fake universities:


Maithili University/Vishwavidyalaya Darbhanga Bihar


Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya. Varanasi, UP and Jagatpuri, Delhi

Commercial University Ltd, Daryaganj

United Nations University

Vocational University,

Indian Institution of Science and Engineering,

ADR-Centric Juridical University,  Gopala Tower, Rajendra Place,


Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University, Education Society, Gokak Belgaum


St.John’s University, Kishanattam,

Madhya Pradesh

Keserwani Vidyapith, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh


Raja Arabic University, Nagpur

Tamil Nadu

D.D.B. Sanskrit University, Putur, Trichi

West Bengal

Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine, 80, Chowringhee Road, Kolkata

Uttar Pradesh

Mahila Gram Vidyapith/Vishwavidyalaya, Prayag, Allahabad

Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith, Prayag, Allahabad

National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur

Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University (Open University), Achaltal, Aligarh

Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya, Kosi Kalan, Mathura

Maharana Pratap Shiksha Niketan Vishwavidyalaya, Pratapgarh

Indraprastha Shiksha Parishad, Institutional Area, Khoda, Makanpur, Noida Phase II

Gurukul Vishwavidyalaya, Vrindavan
(Bhartiya Shiksha Parishad, Lucknow, UP- the matter is subjudice before the district judge, Lucknow )

Be the first to post a comment.

Add a comment

twelve − 5 =


Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox: